Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools

Navigation

You are here: Home / Plone Help / Copying, Moving, and Deleting Content

Copying, Moving, and Deleting Content

Learn how to cut, copy, paste, and delete pages, files, images, and more in Plone.

Copying and Moving Content

Actions expanded

All content in Plone is stored in folders, and Plone makes it easy to copy or to move content from one folder to another.  Additionally, if the content item being moved is linked to other items inside of Plone, the links are automatically updated.  (If you are unsure what links are all about, please see the Deleting Linked Items section below.)  Both the copy and the move operation are handled through the Actions drop-down shown to the right.

Copying

Keep in mind that when you copy/paste an item in Plone, the result will be two copies of the same item:  the original plus the copy.  These two items are distinct in Plone meaning that if you change one, the other is not affected.  To copy any item from one place to another, first navigate to it.  Be sure you see the actual item (page, image, folder, etc.) before you proceed.  Then, click the Actions drop-down and select Copy.  If the Actions drop-down is not present or the Copy option is not shown inside of it, then you do not have permission to copy the item.  Next, navigate to the folder where you wish to place a copy of the item, click the Actions drop-down and select Paste.  If the Actions drop-down is not present or the Paste option is not shown inside of it, then you do not have permission to paste into that folder.

Moving

If you wish instead to move an item from one folder to another, then you must cut and paste it.  To cut any item from one place and paste it into another, first navigate to the item you wish to cut.  Be sure you see the actual item (page, image, folder, etc.) before you proceed.  Then, click the Actions drop-down and select Cut.  If the Actions drop-down is not present or the Copy option is not shown inside of it, then you do not have permission to cut the item.  Next, navigate to the folder where you wish to paste the item, click the Actions drop-down and select Paste. If the Actions drop-down is not present or the Paste option is not shown inside of it, then you do not have permission to paste into that folder.  If you successfully cut an item but then you find you cannot paste it to where you want it, do not worry because the cut operation does not actually take place until you successfully paste.  In other words, cutting without pasting does not result in deletion.

Deleting Content

Actions expanded

To delete any item in Plone, first navigate to it.  Be sure you see the actual item (page, image, folder, etc.) before you proceed.  Then, click the Actions drop-down and select Delete.  If the Actions drop-down is not present or the Delete option is not shown inside of it, then you do not have permission to delete the item.

Deleting Linked Items

Plone Linkage Example

Plone allows various content items to be linked together.  For example, in the figure to the right, Page 2 links to both Page 1 and Image.  Therefore, before Plone deletes any content, it first checks to see if another item is linked to it.  If links are found, Plone gives you three options:

  1. Cancel the delete
    If you choose to cancel the delete, then no changes are made in Plone.
  2. Edit the items that are linked to the item you wish to delete to remove the links
    If you choose to proceed with the delete, first edit each item that points to it by clicking Edit for each linked item and updating the content so it no longer points to the item you are trying to delete.  Finally, confirm the deletion.
  3. Delete the item without editing those that are linked to it
    Generally, it is bad practice to delete the item without resolving the link issues because when a viewer visits the Plone site and clicks on one of the broken links, he or she will receive an error.

Whether items are linked to the one you are trying to delete or not, Plone asks whether or not you wish to continue.  Click the Delete button to delete the item or the Cancel button to cancel the deletion.

Document Actions